Betty Bonifassi’s first solo album

This album is a tribute to the strength of the resilience, dignity and beauty of African slaves deported to America for the purpose of labour exploitation. Africa paid in blood to build America’s structure as well as its art. Thanks to Alan Lomax, we are able to listen to these songs 100 years later, so we may never forget.” Betty Bonifassi

She needs no introduction, but here is her story. Betty Bonifassi became known with The Triplets of Belleville, her collaboration with DJ Champion, and the duo Beast. She is undoubtedly one of Canada’s great voices and exudes a magnetism that is unreal!

At long-last, she is releasing her debut album which will be available September 23, 2014 with the Montreal-based L-A be label. In collaboration with Jean François Lemieux (production and bass), Benjamin Vigneault (drums) and Alex Mac Mahon (production and keyboards), Betty’s ambitious album (which began as music research for Steinbeck’s play Of Mice and Men) pays tribute to African-American prisoners’ songs from the 1920s in the Southern States. These chants helped to maintain the pace of the unbearable and inhuman work.

These songs are what inspired this project, a modern reinterpretation of a work that has already been largely archived by the Lomax family. Alan Lomax (1915—2002), a famous ethnomusicologist, folklorist, musicologist and collector of American music, collected music from the United States, Caribbean, and European nations, which influenced this music. He archived folklore for 52 years.
This album captures the very essence of Betty Bonifassi. She perfectly conveys the intensity of the emotion, pain, and hope in these slave songs, alternating between a range of styles: blues, soul, funk, electronic and rock, adding this extraordinary voice to the mix. From the first single, the haunting rendition of Whoa Buck followed by the hypnotic Grizzly Bear through to the surreal Black Betty, Betty Bonifassi’s album contains 12 great songs of hope (including 2 original works) which will make…history.

In an interview with Sylvain Cormier of Le Devoir, before her performance at the last Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, Betty summed it up best: “I have finally found a way to express what has been forever on my mind, what I’ve wanted to achieve in all my projects, The Triplets of Belleville, DJ Champion, Beast, 30 years of music! I’ve been searching for this all my life, and now I have it in my hands! My own in vitro mix!”
2015 tour dates will be announced shortly.

Comments are closed.

Le premier album solo de Betty Bonifassi

Cet album est un hommage à la force de résilience, à la dignité et à la beauté des esclaves Africains déportés en Amérique à des fins de main-d’oeuvre. L’Afrique a construit l’Amérique dans sa structure comme dans son art, au prix de son sang. Grâce à M. Alan Lomax, nous avons pu entendre ces chants 100 ans plus tard, afin de ne jamais oublier…

Betty Bonifassi

Elle n’a plus besoin de présentation mais, pour la petite histoire… Betty Bonifassi fut révélée avec Les Triplettes de Belleville, sa collaboration avec DJ Champion et le duo Beast. Elle est sans contredit l’une des très grandes voix au pays et possède un magnétisme à rendre fou.

Betty Bonifassi présente, enfin, son premier album à son nom, disponible le 23 septembre prochain sur l’étiquette montréalaise L-A be. Accompagné de Jean Francois Lemieux (réalisation et basse), Benjamin Vigneault (Batterie) et Alex Mac Mahon (réalisation et claviers), Betty Bonifassi offre cet ambitieux album, au départ né d’une recherche musicale pour la pièce de théâtre Des souris et des hommes de Steinbeck, se veut un hommage aux afro-americain prisoners’ songs des années 1920 du sud des États-Unis, chants créés afin de soutenir la cadence de travail qui était insoutenable et inhumaine.

Ces chants sont l’inspiration de ce projet, relecture moderne de cette œuvre déjà archivée en grande partie par la famille Lomax. Alan Lomax (1915-2002) fut un célèbre ethnomusicologue, folkloriste, musicologue et collectionneur de musiques américaines qui a réuni la musique des États-Unis et des Caraïbes, ainsi que celles des nations européennes qui ont influencé cette musique. Il archivera du folkore pendant 52 ans. On retrouve sur le disque l’essence même de Betty Bonifassi.

Elle réussi de façon parfaitement intense à faire passer les émotions, les douleurs et les espoirs de ces chants d’esclaves en enrobant le tout d’un amalgame de blues, de soul, de funk, d’électro et de rock, couronné de cette extraordinaire voix. Du premier extrait, la lancinante Whoa Buck en passant par l’hypnotisante Grizzly Bear jusqu’à l’hallucinante Black Betty, Betty Bonifassi offre un album de 12 grandes chansons

– dont 2 pièces originales – d’espoir qui fera… histoire. Dans une entrevue accordée à Sylvain Cormier du Devoir avant son spectacle au dernier Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, Betty Bonifassi résume : « J’ai enfin trouvé la manière d’exprimer ce qui m’obsède depuis toujours, ce que j’ai voulu dans tout ce que j’ai fait, les Triplettes, DJ Champion, Beast, mes 30 ans de musique ! Toute ma vie j’ai cherché quelque chose et là je le tiens ! Mon mélange in vitro ! »

Les dates de la tournée prévues pour 2015 seront annoncées sous peu…

Pré-commandez dès aujourd’hui l’album ici

Comments are closed.